Reality Check

Standard

Listening to the radio on the way home today I heard a clip about living an alternate reality based in a dream life. Apparently two-thirds of 18-25 year olds dream about being rich and famous. They fantasize about how much better their lives would be if only they had money and everyone knew who they are.

I’ve read the headlines and I’m not all that sure that the famous are living the dream life. Every day their laundry is aired for all the world to see and read about. It doesn’t even have to be “dirty” laundry or true but the entire developing world can find out most details on the lives of the famous. So check that off my list.

Let’s talk about the rich. Now here’s a topic I cannot relate to but oh, do I dream of the day when money is not so tight and we’re not living paycheck to paycheck. Being the parents of two children we definitely struggle but that seems to be a commonality in this generation where both parents have to work to keep the family going.

In my alternate reality I can stay home and raise my children and never have to worry about “making” it to the next paycheck. I have an extremely clean house, I’m much thinner, more creative and my life is “perfect”. Yes, I have a vividly, wild imagination. Whose life is perfect?

The other I shared a Facebook link one of my college friends had posted:

Dirty dishes prove I feed my family, full trashcans prove I clean up after their mess, messy floors prove that I let my child have fun, piles of clean laundry prove I keep my family in clean clothes, a wet bathroom proves that I bathe my child! So next time you walk into my house and see a mess, think twice before you judge!!!

I love it. So while I may not be living the “dream” my life is pretty darn good. I have more than most people in the world. I have a husband who loves me for who I am, I have 2 amazing little girls, a family I’m extremely close with, great in-laws, friends, food, shelter and love. What more do I need?

Leave a Reply

