The Brevity of Life

Standard

How do I approach this subject? With the reality that we will all die someday? Or that we should live life to the fullest, enjoying every moment we have?

I have never handled death well. I was 7-years old when my step-grandfather passed away. That was my first experience, in my mind. He lived 3 hours away with my grandma and while I knew him, I was not close to him. Both my father’s parents are still alive and while they were my favorite people when I was young I have seen them change and with the years come the frailty and reality that they have lived a good life and death is the next step. I don’t want to sound harsh, but they are 86 and 92 years old and truly have had fulfilled lives.

Yesterday I was shocked to learn that a girl I knew as a child, now a woman around my age died last week, suddenly and without warning. She was a wife, a mother, a daughter and many other things. I have been reading the outpouring of love this community had for her and how involved she has been over the years. It saddens me and scares me at the same time. She leaves behind her parents, older sister, husband and three children. The youngest is only 21 months and reminds me that even my life has a limit and makes me cherish my daughters, husband and family even more.

I can only pray her family finds peace through this, although everyone will probably grieve in their own ways. My heart breaks for her husband who has lost the love of his life and her children who will grow up without their mother. Why do bad things happen to good people? I wish I knew.

Leave a Reply

