Finding Grace in Your Life

Standard

Do you have grace in your life? I could name a few: my sister, Brittany Grace, my nieces Emma Grace and Tia Grace. But really do you have grace? 

Merriam-Webster defines as a : unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification.     b : a virtue coming from God. c : a state of sanctification enjoyed through divine grace.

Does your grace come from within? Do you offer grace to those in your life? What does it mean to offer grace?

I recently saw a Facebook post that read: Don’t judge me because I sin differently than you.

Do you treat people who make mistakes as though they are less than you? Are you placing judgment on a life because they have acted in a way you never would? 

I remember growing up I was very judgmental. Everything was black & white. You were either right (like me) or wrong (not like me). As I got older and began to see the world through the lens of love, I realized that even though I may not understand where someone is coming from, I can still offer them grace, just as grace has been given to me.

I don’t have to know every detail of your life or what lead you to make certain decisions, just as you may not know my life or what lead me down my current path, but we can accept each other as we are and offer grace freely.

Remember offering grace does not mean you approve of one’s life or decisions, but that you accept them where they are and do not heap judgment upon them.

Where is your grace?

One response »

Leave a Reply

