Surrounded by God’s Glory

Standard

This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

This verse is carrying me through this morning. Each day is a new day; a new opportunity to praise our God, the father of us all. Last night as I drove home, with tears streaming down my face I looked up to the sky, with the clouds spattering the blue expanse and saw light fighting to shine through. I was amazed at the beauty of this place we call home and thought of Karyn, who is now singing with the angels. The moment caught me as a glimmer of hope of what is to come in the next life, where my friend now resides. I can only imagine her now…restored to health and life, praising her Father, the creator of us all.

I read posts from Karyn’s husband, family and friends and fill a new wash of sadness come over me, but still there is so much of God in each one. Her father wrote yesterday,

“This morning, our sweet daughter, Karyn, went to be with her Lord after a long battle with heart disease. She was only 36 years-old. She will be sorely missed by her mom and me, as well as her husband, Jack, and their 4 children; and her 5 brothers and sisters and the rest of the family. But we are assured that we know where she is. Praise the Lord!”

Even in the midst of his loss and sadness he is praising God. Do you find you praise God in the hard times? The dark times? Or only the good? Do you pray to the giver of life daily? Or do you only come to him in your times of need? Or despair?

Each day is a new day we can come before the throne and thank God for the many, many blessings in our life. It’s not only the big things that we need to recognize that God working in our lives, but the small things as well. I remember I once decided to find God’s blessings daily and I still try to recognize the things around me that are from him. Whether it be a beautiful sunset on the drive home, a flower garden for me to enjoy the view and scents or the way my baby lays her head on my shoulder to cuddle…I look for God in the still, quiet moments.

Today I am reminded of the song, again by Mercy Me, I Can Only Imagine. Today Karyn is walking by God’s side, surrounded by His glory.

I can only imagine what it will be like when I walk by Your side 

I can only imagine what my eyes will see when Your face is before me 

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel 
Will I dance for You Jesus or in awe of you be still 
Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I fall 
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all 
I can only imagine

I can only imagine when that day comes and I find myself standing in the sun 
I can only imagine when all I will do is forever, forever worship You

Leave a Reply

